HUSEP: Collaboration

The HUSEP Collaboration was formed to coordinate the establishment of an underground laboratory at Henderson. The collaboration has grown to include 224 members from 98 institutions/organizations in 14 countries. It is a well-organized group that is strongly driven by a common vision of establishing a multidisciplinary underground lab at Henderson. See the HUSEP Collaboration Organizational Chart.

At the core of the HUSEP organization is the Executive Committee, which establishes policies and makes all major decisions for collaboration matters. It is composed of one member each from The Arapaho Project Inc.* (S. Schultz), Univ. of Colorado (E. D. Zimmerman), Colorado School of Mines (M. Kuchta), Colorado State Univ. (R. J. Wilson) and Stony Brook Univ. (C. K. Jung), and two members from the Henderson Mine (J. S. Teuscher and R. Propernick). The Executive Committee communicates frequently with Henderson General Manager F. Menzer who is in close contact with CMC parent company Phelps Dodge. (* The Arapaho Project Inc. is a private nonprofit corporation established by members of the communities close to Henderson. For more information visit: Arapaho Project web page)

The Spokesperson of the collaboration is elected by the Executive Committee to represent the collaboration nationally and internationally. Currently Jung holds this position, and he is also the PI of the Henderson DUSEL S2/S3 proposal. The Spokesperson is assisted by a Deputy Spokesperson, who was the Project Manager for the S2 project and will be for the S3 project if the S3 proposal is accepted. This position is currently held by Wilson, who is a co-PI of the Henderson DUSEL S2/S3 proposal.

The Executive Committee and the Spokesperson receive advice from the HUSEP International Advisory Board, which consists of renowned scientists and engineers as well as experienced managers. The current members are: Y. Amelin, Univ. of Toronto, Canada; F. Avignone, Univ. of South Carolina; M. Bardeen, Fermilab; A. Bettini, Univ. of Padua, Italy; F. Calaprice, Princeton Univ.; C. DeWolfe, Rio Tinto OTX; C. Fairhurst, Itasca Consulting Group; E. Fernandez, Univ. of Madrid, Spain; H. D. Holland, Harvard Univ.; W. Hustrulid, Univ. of Utah; R. McKeown, Caltech; L. Mosca, Saclay Lab, France; M. Nakahata, ICRR, Univ. of Tokyo, Japan; K. Nakamura, KEK, Japan; J. Norton, former Lt. Governor of Colorado; T. C. Onsott, Princeton Uni.; N. Pace, Univ. of Colorado; P. Paul, Stony Book Univ.; K. Samuelson, Kiewi Co.; W. Schubert, Univ. of Graz, Austria; D. Sinclair, Carleton Univ., Canada; J. Tiedje, Michigan State Univ.; S. Wojcicki, Stanford Univ.; and R. P. Young, Univ. of Toronto.

There are eleven standing committees under the executive committee: Physics, Geociences, Biological Science, Mining and Engineering, Low Background Counting Facilities, Environmental Safety and Health, Industry Relations, Management, Computing Infrastructure and Information Technology, Government and Community Relations, and Broader Impacts. The Collaboration Council consists of the Executive Committee plus the chairs of eleven standing committee.